Religion Program Faculty

Bruce Chilton

Bruce Chilton

Bernard Iddings Bell Professor of Religion

Affiliations: Institute for Advanced Theology (Director), Theology, Medieval Studies, Jewish Studies
Primary Teaching and Research Interests: Early Christianity and Judaism, Liberation Theology
Email: chilton@bard.edu 
Phone: 845-758-7335 Expand for more. Expand

Richard H. Davis, Director

Richard H. Davis, Director

Professor of Religion and Asian Studies, Director of Religion Program

Affiliations: Asian Studies, Classical Studies, Theology
Primary Teaching and Research Interests: Classical and Medieval Hinduism, Indian History, South Asian Visual Arts, Sanskrit
Website: http://inside.bard.edu/~rdavis
Email: rdavis@bard.edu 
Phone: 845-758-7364   Expand for more. Expand

Matthew Lynch

Matthew Lynch

Visiting Instructor

Contact Information: mlynch@bard.edu, (845) 758-7207 Expand for more. Expand

David Nelson

David Nelson

Rabbi and Visiting Assistant Professor of Religion

Affiliations: Religion, Jewish Studies, Gender and Sexuality Studies
Primary Teaching and Research Interests: Jewish Thought and Practice, Science and Religion, Jewish Approaches to Text, Hebrew
Contact Information: nelson@bard.edu 201-956-8228  Expand for more. Expand

Shai Secunda

Shai Secunda

Jacob Neusner Associate Professor in the History and Theology of Judaism

Affiliations: Jewish Studies
Primary Teaching and Research Interests: Rabbinic Literature, Classical Judaism, Women’s Studies and Judaism, Middle Persian Literature, Zoroastrianism, Eastern Late Antiquity, and Orality
Contact Information: ssecunda@bard.edu, (845) 758-7389 Expand for more. Expand

Dominique Townsend

Dominique Townsend

Assistant Professor of Religion

Affiliations:  Experimental Humanities, Asian Studies, Philosophy
Primary Teaching and Research Interests: Buddhism, Tibetan and Himalayan Studies, Buddhist Poetry, Aesthetics and Education
Contact Information: dtownsend@bard.edu, (845) 758-7389 Expand for more. Expand